United States “Muslim” Travel Ban

On Friday January 27, President Trump signed an Executive Order entitled: Protecting the Nation from Foreign Entry into the United States. The order includes an immediate suspension of immigration benefits to nationals of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. “Immigration benefits” includes adjudication of visa applications at U.S. consular posts, admissions to the U.S. by U.S. Customs and Border Protection, and adjudication of immigration applications and petitions filed with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.

“Nationals” of a country was initially interpreted to include lawful permanent residents of the U.S. (green card holders) as well as dual nationals. Since the order was released, the administration has clarified that green card holders and dual nationals traveling to the U.S. with a passport from a country not on the list and a valid U.S. visa should not be included in the ban but could still undergo more extensive screening.

As all situations are unique, we recommend that you contact one of our expert attorneys in Chicago or London should you have questions on how this order or other immigration laws or policies may affect you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>